Artistic growth

Standard

As I continue with the art challenge to post pictures of my artwork for 6 days on my facebook page, I am having an internal conversation with self.

I look at the scenes and see how much I’ve grown as an artist, and always, as a woman.   I have been trying to find my very first painting to post, alongside my last.   I think what I need to do, for my own sake, is to repaint an earlier piece.

I know it’s important that I honor every part of my journey.   I am mostly self taught, with a few classes with awesome teachers.  I’m now looking to take some classes on painting animals, because I’m enjoying it very much.  The roosters I’ve been painting have come easy for me, but when you add the body, the sprawling and presence of many beautiful feathers, I become perplexed and sometimes, overwhelmed.  But I know I can do it, I can learn this.  I know i will.

Most of my earlier Santa’s have taken on a provocative look.   I will share this lightly.   Most of my Santa’s noses ended up looking like male genitalia.   My students and I would laugh over it, and many comical, highly amusing stories have come from my earlier work.   Perhaps now I can paint noses as I’d have to reach deep into my long term memory to paint male genitalia!   I say that laughing, laughing more, and laughing loudly.

Just like our growth as a person, an artist has to start somewhere.    The ideas and things that I have in my head that I’ve yet to put to canvas are so different from my paintings of past.  But that’s because I’ve changed, we all change.   I’m not the same person I was when I designed and painted prior.   I see things differently, and my colors and interests have evolved.   Honor the process, Donna, honor the process.

God speed to you and yours

One response »

  1. Hi Donna;

    I want to say hi as I just joined your blog.. very interested in your painted works… and I must say very inspiring to read about your life and struggle and how you fight daily to be the best person you can be..

    I was wondering if you still have the pattern for the work of a painting you did on a paddle with a goose, fishing rod pole line and reel, some flowers vertical composition. I wish I could attach a pic of it. . Saw the idea somewhere and cannot find how I could order the pattern or where…

    I would really appreciate it if you could let me know if and how I could buy this pattern..

    Thank you so much. I live in Charlemont, MA just west of Greenfield…not too far from you I think.

    Katherine Walsh

Leave a Reply

