One, two, three, four…. The FIFTH element

Standard

Today’s Lesson: Answers to our problems come in a disguised form. 

HE has a sense of humor!

Today’s Gratitude: I am grateful for MY sense of humor!

A few days ago I took in a 16 month old German Shepherd.  The owner relinquished her for the benefit of the dog, who spent too many hours alone each day and the inability to provide the medical care she needs.  She IS in need of medical care and love.    Her name is Sophie, and she is one ambitious, mischievous sweet dog.

61464_10203157101828042_1375821997_n (2)After my Australian Shepherd died I swore I would never get another dog that required a lot of exercise and was demanding of my time.  My little terrier that I rescued, Lilly, she just  goes with the flow.   I took Sophie in out of the goodness of my heart, knowing I could place her if it didn’t work out.  Knowing little but the intelligence of the breed, and after owning an Australian shepherd, I know their only limitation is with their owners lack of training.   I know she  “needs a job”.  Brody’s job was to catch Frisbees and tennis balls.  At the moment, Sophie’s appears to be the cats, which obviously must change, but quick.   I either need to get her into obedience school quickly, and start exercising her, or give her to someone who will do so and who knows and loves the breed.  I do not believe in giving highly intelligent breeds to those who are not familiar with them, nor know how to handle them.  It isn’t fair to them to do anything other.  It’s very hard to give her outdoor exercise right now, and will be through winter, but I managed to find a way with Brody, so I will with Sophie, if she stays.

I have been pondering the arrival, the timing of this beautiful dogs arrival.   Needing myself, to exercise to help me rid the consequences of my latest addiction,  I know she would make the perfect hiking companion.    I loved this with my Aussie.  Has she come to me to help get me back into shape, back into participating in life again, or for me to place her with someone else?  Her boundless energy entertains me.

She is already tugging at my heart strings, and also various things on the counter and my hands.     The three cats, now doubled in size (I have never seen their fur stand up so much) are constantly humming the tune of displeasure.    Sophie, however, is no longer afraid of them because in all their “swats” she has learned they have no front claws!  Lilly is being a bitch even taking on the role of protecting the cats, which she found great entertainment with chasing before Sophie joined us.

Sophie is no longer afraid of Lilly, though her squeaky high tone voice I cringe when I hear it, it’s very loud, intimidating.  This 20 lb dog thinks she is the size of a school bus.    I started out yelling “NO” at Lilly, moved down to pointing at her and in a stern voice “NO”… but today I have no energy for either.   I know they will work it out, but it will not be without trial and error.     1017333_10203157077227427_2076609207_nWhen I try to get the two of them together while I pat them both, Lilly is well behaved.  Sophie, clearly in need of obedience school, gets excited, her tail gets wagging which swats Lilly.  Lilly, who isn’t familiar with tails (both her and Brody had nubs…. and when I would ask them what they were doing they would reply “nubbing”….   then gets defensive because this dog swatted her.  Also, while I am patting them both and telling them how good they are, it doesn’t help that Sophie very gently opens her mouth and puts Lilly’s entire nose in it.    She has been doing this with my hands.  I correct her, but I know, training will correct this.

Sophie has been pooping in the house.  Good God it’s awful.    I also have a very weak stomach so the first time I cleaned it up I vomited and then subsequently ran outdoors every few seconds for fresh air to prevent myself from vomiting AGAIN.  Dry heaving…..  nature’s way of telling you not to eat! 🙂   She needs a crate, which my girlfriend, Kelly, has already offered, we need to find a time that works with both our schedules because she lives an hour away.

Last night, while designing jewelry, or should I say “attempting to”, my dear sweet cat Chloe, who is not wrapped too tightly (seriously, she watches a fly with her whole head, not her eyes!) ran across my jewelry work area, spilling a large glass of grapefruit juice and water on two bins of beads.   Instead of rinsing out pasta in my colander, I was rinsing out beads which are still wrapped in towels on the kitchen counter, drying.

I live on a busy road.   I can let Lilly out and know she would not veer towards the road but up back, I do not trust Sophie yet nor do I want to put her in harms way, so I take them out together and walk them up on the hill.   With great excitement Sophie runs to Lilly hopping like a rabbit and with movement like Scooby Doo’s… Lilly runs to me.

It’s winter, there are patches of ice everywhere though todays sunshine and yesterday’s rain eliminated some and most of the snow (into my cellar… Thank you very much).   I have to wear my 5 lbs each LLBean Sorrell boots out because in some areas there is easily 4-5″ of water.   Last night, in sweats, sorrels and barn coat I walked them out, and when we got back to the porch I realized I had locked us out of the house.    After smashing a window with my flashlight, and sweeping up what I could, I realized the filter to the vacuum cleaner was still wet so I didn’t dare use it.   I was planning to do this this morning.  However, this morning, when I went out with them, I slid on a patch of ice.   It wasn’t the fall as much as the “trying not to fall” movement that hurt my back.  I landed in 3″ of water, my pants were soaked, obviously heavy and the tears coming down my face running into my mouth fit right into the scenario.     I spent the large part of today in bed with heat on my back and that smelly stuff that the cats love and won’t leave me alone, they want to lick it, or bite me wherever it is on my body.

I make my way out of bed, the animals must eat, I couldn’t care less if I do…. am welcomed downstairs by another untitled (3)big bee hive shaped pile of crap (I know, too much info) to pick up, this time with a sore back.   The cheap area rug which was given to me by a friend, will end up getting tossed as Lilly has felt the need to pee there whenever Sophie poops there, assuming, since this is new for Lilly, a territorial thing?  Alas, I am grateful that it’s on this rug in my art room, and not the wool rugs which blanket the hardwood floors in my livingroom.    Both the tile and hardwood floors are covered with Sophie’s foot prints because when I was sleeping, she  figured out how to open the cellar door, giving her full rein to run in the water now flooding the basement.    I shake my head.   I just mopped them three days ago.   I’m not as vigilant as I should be in doing this.  I vacuum, sweep, swift mop, but not seriously mop…which I will get to master this evening!

As I sit on the throne and slide from the wetness (apparently I forgot to put water out that hour and Sophie made “doo”) with my head in my hands and both Lilly and Sophie licking my face…in competition with which one I will lower my hand to pat, I thought to myself…. The fifth element.     This is the result of the fifth element.     Should  I stick with four??????   Have I met my match?  Is this dog smarter than me?    As chaotic as my humble home is right now, I can’t help but smile and laugh at her antics.   She is a great dog!

Thank god tomorrow is rubbish day.   I will be able to get rid of the many wrapped up bags of poop from my porch that have accumulated from the past few days.  I learned quickly, (without thinking) not to flush the heft paper towel bunch down the toilet, it only rears me the need to find and plunge my toilet!

In search of the can of cat food that I know I had put on the counter, half full, for their dinner I could not find it.    Typically and not disappointing myself without questioning my own sanity… I must have fed them and forgotten.  Only to find the now empty can in the corner of the laundry visiting the near empty $15 bag of organic chicken jerky treats from the third shelf of the pantry!   I am asking myself the similarly  regular question,  Why do I like pure breds?  Probably the same reason why I can’t fall in love with an uncomplicated man!  Why didn’t I adopt a mutt?

I just turned around to see why there was sudden quiet on the home front.  Lilly has acquired Sophie’s large raw hyde bone I bought her to help keep her busy.   Looking at Lilly carrying this around is reminiscent of “The Grinch’s” dog when he tied the antlers to its head.   She can barely lift hers!      As I sit here laughing, reminding myself to take this one day at a time, I can’t help but think this would be a scene out of Jerry Springer if he hosted a dog show!

Now please excuse me for not having the time to edit this blog, I have a whirlwind of chaos behind me, which is why I haven’t written since Sophie’s arrival….  Off to try to keep up with five animals and I just realized the kitty litter pans are floating around the basement like the Tidy Bowl Man used in television commercials in the 70’s?  I hope you found this blog funny, as that is what it was meant to be…..♥

Today’s artwork….Alice’s Snow FamilyAliceswoce

One response »

  1. By all means take Sophie to Obedience classes! And house break her. Which crate training will help with that. Overall you have probably found a great dog.

Leave a Reply

