Presurgery eve…

Standard

Today has been a whirlwind type of day. Tomorrow I have to be at the hospital at 8am to have surgery to repair a torn miniscus, have arthritis scraped and a bakers cyst drained which sits on the backside of my leg just under the knee. When my orthopedic surgeon read my MRI she laughed and said “You don’t do anything small, do you Donna?” Referring to last January’s surgery on my hand for trigger finger, dupreytren’s contractor and a gangleon cyst, then 7 years earlier a severly torn rotator cuff, spurs, and more. Nope, I really don’t do anything small, I call myself an “overachiever”… I wasn’t happy with just one cancer, I had to have two!

I have been moving furniture, cleaning out the pantry area where my dad will be installing a stackable washer and dryer (much to my delight). He isn’t too thrilled because he has to cut into a wall and knock out a stud to fit it in, then put the wall back up because I don’t want a door there. Oh, yeah, it was just a few years ago that he had closed off a door to that exact area at my request….Good thing for daddy’s! It can’t come soon enough, my cellar stairs are awful, having fell down the three lower ones just this morning. My utilities will now be on the first floor, so that means only one floor to take my clothes up!!! Hey, this is very exciting for me. I sent pictures of my stackable to friends. It isn’t brand new, but who cares, I sure as heck don’t. I would like to find someone who needs a washer and dryer and can’t afford one, to donate or give mine too. I know how grateful I am to have gotten this, I’d like to make somebody else’s life better. If you are local and know anyone, buzz me!

I’m trying to get organized, ready for that, and knowing I’ll be layed up for a few days…making sure my automatic ice machine is pumping out nature’s pain killer.
So there should be some interesting blogs coming under the influence of pain killers! Nah, I hate the things, they make me ill… I’ll use them only if I’m a bigger bitch than usual!

When I think about where I was a year ago I took a deep breath and sighed. Yeah, physically I had some issues then too, but mentally there is no comparison, thank God! Particularly because I learned this morning that a woman that I was in treatment with relapsed, overdosed (suicidal ideation). I have bad days, some fairly dark, but I haven’t gone back that far… another deep breath, another sigh. I am also off a lot of the medication they had me on last spring/summer. I remember telling my psychiatrist “I feel like a walking pharmacy”… her response was “You’re alive Donna”. touche

The weather has been beautiful during the days. Sunshine. This helps. Do you know that the majority of people in New England are lacking in vitamin B3??? I personally like the chewable ones. And by the way, every woman should be on 2000u of B3 daily, for breast and female health….straight from the mouth of my oncologist at Dana Farber/Mass General .

Dylan is blaring downstairs, I’m looking at the vacuum cleaner trying to work an arrangement with it…. please clean my floors for me and I’ll get you a new filter… it ain’t moving, the bastard!

Well, I’m off to finish my chores and run to Walmart to pick up some incidentals. I figure I should probably have some loose sweatpants to wear for the next few days, then alas, they will look like a rainbow as I’ll use them to paint in. This afternoon I ran to Home Depot and had on a “Vermont” grey sweatshirt which I paint in, it is covered in paint from my mop and dry brushes. The woman behind the counter asked me where I got my sweatshirt… I laughed…. “You could say it’s custom made.”

Hope your New Year is starting out well, hope you had a great day today, and if you would please send a prayer up for me tonight I surely would appreciate it..

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

3 responses »

  1. Sorry I missed you were having surgery Donna! My husband and son BOTH had that surgery. Hope you will be on the road to recovery soon! LOLOL on the custom made sweatshirt!!! I have lots of “custom made” studio clothes!!!
    Hugs,
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

