Name that tune!

Standard

It’s raining, it’s pouring…my life love is boring me to tears….. Remember that song? Who sang it????????????????????????? The eighth person who comments or emails me with the correct answer wins an original Donna Scully painted ornament!

My head is flying all over, if only it were cardiac exercise instead of mental! The DJ is my head has the jukebox going. Music, sweet music… oh how I love thee!

Just came back from Walmart, I bought myself a birthday cake. Do I need it? Nope, but I’ve decided to celebrate and indulge, as soon… well nevermind, I don’t want to go there right now. Tomorrow I turn 51. Wow, honestly never thought I’d live this long, but am grateful I have. While I have sadly lost two sisters, I am still blessed with one and my brother, both parents, several niece & nephews and their little ones. I’ve given myself permission to indulge this weekend instead of beating the crap out of myself. I also bought ingredients to make a beef stew in my crock pot for tomorrow nights meal. It’s a double win…the smell that fills the house, and of course, the taste. The cold makes me crave food all the more, and for some reason this year I cannot seem to get and keep warm. Probably because I’m cold hearted? Nah…….

The Salvation Army was out ringing their bell, looking for donations, and a local private school was having a bake sale. I mean a bake sale with rum cakes, cheesecakes, homemade bread… Yum!

The season of giving, the celebration for Christ’s birthday is filling the air. I am really enjoying it. My life is changing, for the better. I am facilitating these changes in compliance with God’s will for me, otherwise they wouldn’t happen! I am so grateful. One would think in a community as small as the one I live in that I would run into old friends frequently, not the case. It is this time of year that I see people shopping. It’s fun. I remember a time not too long ago where I would walk in the opposite direction or hide from people… Now they hide from me because of my enthusiasm over Nerium! Comical. After the holidays most of us from New England go into hybernation, inside, shelter from the cold snowy winter..well at least I will be! I plan to fill my winter with game days and time spent with friends.

“Well I know it’s kinda late…I hope I didn’t wake you, but there’s something that I just got to say, I hope you’ll understand”………. Who sang that? The eighth person who gives the correct answer (has to be a separate email or comment from the one above) wins an original hand painted Donna Scully ornament OR if desired, a mistletoe kiss! πŸ™‚

Well, I’m off to see the Wizard, the wonderful Wizard of Oz! Sending warm wishes, love, peace & hugs to you all….. Donna

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! β™₯β™₯! Where would we be without humor?

2 responses »

  1. The song is not found before the mid-twentieth century in the USA.[2] It was noted in 1939 in New York by Charles Ives (1874–1954) and copyrighted in 1944 by Freda Selicoff.[3]

    It has been suggested that the verse is a “classic description” of a head injury (“bumped his head”) resulting in head injury, subsequent lucid interval and inability to resume normal activity (“couldn’t get up in the morning”).[4] The source quotes a variant of the song in which the order of “went to bed” and “bumped his head” are reversed.

    Another interpretation would be where “Went to bed, bumped his head” are replaced with “Fell out of bed, bumped his head”.

Leave a Reply

