Accepting the unacceptable…

Standard

It is early morning. I have been lying comfortably and quietly in bed listening to the warm comfortable sounds of my dogs and cats sleeping. I love my animals, they offer me unconditional love through both good and hard times. Each one has their own little snore which makes up for a delightful little tune that makes me smile.

I have much to do today, so I will be rising shortly to start on the tasks that are bothersome to my peace of mind. Thank goodness for patient people. I still struggle with memory lapses, though on a whole am doing much better. I am having twice as many good days now, throwing behind me not only my past but also the anxiety that is coming behind these. I’m often reminded that some of my memory and cognitive problems could possibly be related to my age, menopause. I have taken those people who suggested such, off my Christmas list! 😉

With the holidays soon approaching, thus a new year, soon I will turn 51 and start reviewing the past year and setting my sights on what I hope to acconmplish and be in the new year quickly approaching.

Yesterday I went into Wendy’s to get the dogs a junior frosty (no worries, vanilla not chocolate) and to use the restroom. Upon standing in line to order (and being the sole person in that line) I stood there for probably 3 minutes as these two women were preoccupied (standing looking at me, well aware of my presence), one reading to the other a lengthy text message she had received. I was furious. This is a pet peave of mine. I was so upset I glared at them as I walked out of the restaurant. The line for the drive thru was long. After sharing this story with my girlfriend who so kindly helped me out yesterday by driving me to point A, ending with the post office at Point C, she said “Why did you not say something? Usually you rather freely share your discontentment with them.” She was right. This is one thing I have little tolerance for. When I was 16 I was taught that the customer was our bread and butter, they come first. But then again those were the times when we were not even allowed to chew gum at work. Today it seems anything goes.

I went back in to get frosty’s and one of the women said “I’ll be with you in a moment, I’m closing out this drawer”. After 5 minutes I asked the woman standing beside her if she could at least get my frosty’s while I waited to hear my total. The woman behind the register, who was one chatting last time I went in said “I’ll take your order in a minute”. I torted “This is a perfect example of the service we have lost in America. This is my second trip in, I’m the only one in line and I’ve spent more time waiting to order than it will take to eat what I’m purchasing. How rude it is to not only be make me wait, but to listen to two of you discussing and sharing personal text messages. I am the customer.” A new gal showed up and asked what the problem was, I explained. She apologized profusely as she quickly shuffled around for my order, and then put in for coupons that I didn’t have as a “token” I believe, of apology. I put the two dollars in the fund raising can in front of the register. “Thank you”. By this time a gentleman had come in and was standing behind me. He wouldn’t look at me. Have you ever spoken up and seen the reaction of others? As if to say I was the bitch complaining or the one asking for service. This type of behavior, thus lack of service has become so acceptable in our culture that the one who speaks up gets frowned upon….. (shaking my head). Am I the only one who dislikes this and finds this unacceptable? By the way, Brody always finishes his frosty long before Lilly Wonka, to which prompts him to move in on her frosty. When he sees that I am watching he doesn’t reach for her frosty but licks her mouth and whiskers free of the iced cream she accumulates quickly on the longer fur on her mouth. He’s such an opportunist.

I’m off to see the Wizard… the wonderful wizard of oz…. Here’s hoping you have a nice day and a very nice weekend as well.

Hugz, Donna

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

One response »

  1. I too have the same pet peeve. Do employers realize how much money they lose daily by employees texting and talking on their cellphones during work hours?????

Leave a Reply

