Signs of November

Standard

Most of the leaves are off the trees, geese overhead are flying South, and dDylight savings time is mere hours away. Try as I might I am planning on getting up earlier to reap the benefits of daylight. I have been making progress on depression, I don’t want to go backwards.

I’m excited to be losing weight again. My brain functions so much better on protein than it does sugar, and I am once again out of the nasty sugar cycle….Hurray! My creativity has been flying around, up til early morning and then excited to get out of bed to see what I did the night before. I made the postmarked deadline for HOOT by minutes. I have 5 out of 6 new designs that I have been working on and feel confident that at least two will be chosen from them. It’s nice to sit and look back at what I’ve done. It makes me smile.

The purple ribbon that was tied on one of my elm trees in memory of my sister Karen still sits quietly and beautifully wrapped around the tree. She was born in November, and by the way, Happy November. My friend Harry’s birthday is coming up, I’m hoping to go out to dinner with him because Ralph’s birthday also was in November. The “firsts” of everything after loss are so hard.

Nerium is working miraculously on my sun damaged large freckle looking spots on my face. Hey, I can’t call them age spots, okay? Anyway, this afternoon I made up a delicious chocolate protein shake and drank it right out of the blender cup. Upon my next visit to the bathroom I glanced in the mirror and was shocked to see it darkening again…or so I thought. Further observance I realized I had a ring of chocolate all around my mouth… It was rather comical.

In a few days I will be flying to CA with friends for a Nerium Convention, I’m excited about that because these are some fun ladies! I’m also going to set a date to go to Omaha to see my pretty bestest girlfriend. It has been way too long since I’ve seen her, as well as my girlfriends from Long Island.

If this has taught me anything, it is to slow down and smell the posies. I was a bit disappointed in myself today that I was in a mad tear to meet the deadline…I never take into consideration the possibilities of broken printers or photo machines. I plan to be finished and have my submissions for New England Traditions well in advance…. let’s see what happens. Deadlines amuse me, and actually procrastination motivates me.

As the cold starts to settle in my home, and my animals are getting their winter coats, I am a bit afraid of the coming Winter. Last year I isolated and constantly sat in the bowels of depression. I need to plan trips to see my friends. This year I have a new business to keep me busy, and am going to visit and teach at my girlfriend’s art studio in Newfoundland, Canada. This gives me something to look forward to. Another place I’ve always wanted to see is Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia…add to that the province above Oregon (senior moment), these are on my bucket list.

Good news! My mom’s test came back clean! Whenever someone in my family goes in for testing, or isn’t feeling well it is hard to remain calm, given all of our history of cancer, and most of us two. We dodged another one, have breathing room again. Thank you all for your messages, prayers and positive thoughts.

Now I think I will go and get on some painting clothes, get the fireplace going, and either settle into sewing my livingroom curtains or painting…I never quite know what I’ll do until I actually sit in my studio.

Happy November! Hope your staying warm and enjoying good health!

Hugz
Donna

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

One response »

  1. Wow, what a wonderful blog you produced !!!!!!
    Things are really happening for you; feeling great getting rid of sugar, making a deadline, painting and designing mega lately, traveling, seeing long-time friends, starting a business, seeing beauty in that purple ribbon, mom is doing well,….and the best part Is finding joy!!!! Wow!!!!! I am truly happy for you Donna Marie! Such energy breaking the cycle! Don’t forbode the winter coming; you will definitely be too busy running around this country doing what you love and believing what you do!!! Your winter is going to be your best!This is your years to come my friend!

    Thought I would let you know that I called into the Nerium number you left for us; it was quite interesting and I can so understand how excited you are. Sounds like it could not only give a satisfaction outcome in that dreadful mirror but can financially make you free….cannot wait to see your results…loved how you got chocolate on your face…that’s so me!
    Robyne

Leave a Reply

