Pulling inward

Standard

For a person who has always been right out there with my life (as my mom has always told me “You wear your heart on your sleeve”) I am finding the need to pull inward, tuck myself into my shell, so to speak. Not sure if this is good or bad, it just is what it is. And no, it isn’t because I have acquired the book “50 shades of Grey”…. I haven’t even opened it!

No one knows what another person has gone thru or what they are going thru. We simply cannot or do not walk in another persons shoes. I was reminded of that tonight when something was said to me that annoyed me.

I am so grateful for my therapist and the changes I am making in my life. Necessary changes. I am responsible for my life, my health, my bills, I am in the process of making changes, choosing different roads to travel that perhaps will not conclude to be difficult paths, but then again, most things are difficult… except eating ice cream. Tonight I went to Friendly’s with a friend and had my favorite Strawberry Sundae with strawberry and Vanilla ice cream, with bananas, walnuts, whipped cream with a cherry on top. It went down so quickly I am left questioning if there really was ice cream in the bowl! 😮

I think there is a difference between pulling inward, not revealing so much of my life or experiences, and isolating. I isolated out of depression, fear; My choosing to pull inward is self preservation, and a desire to not give away my experiences so freely, to be criticized or doubted by many. My friend Harry (Noodle) said tonight “You certainly have a lot of experiences that you can share with others”…. A couple people, I believe, think I have exagerrated my experiences…hardly. If anything I withheld…

As Bob Dylan sings “For the times they are a changing”……….

Sweet sheep! xx

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

4 responses »

  1. Donna…you are an amazing person ….and truly an inspiration….I wish you all the BEST that LIFE has to give….sweet sheep ❤
    Lynn

  2. Have you been reading my mind and channeling me? So good to have lunch and catch up at Hoot. Big hugs and yes, I understand your blog today as if it were me!

  3. I know you are having a rough patch, but this too “shall pass”, I pray. You have been and will be for so many, an inspiration, and a tremendous help to so many. Some you touch you may not even know, but God knows who needs you..thus from the mouth of the Apostle Paul, who I might add, wrote most of the Epistles, said; “how could I help truly help others if I had not gone through this myself.” I know in my heart of heart you have helped so many already.. I love you my friend, and I thank you for just being that..my friend, who “IS” so full of life.

  4. PS: I wanted to add this, before I hit the “enter” key, LOL.. You “ARE” so full of life, you are just hitting a few speed bumps along the way, but that is how we as people gain our strength. For every speed bump, we learn something new, about others but most “importantly” about ourselves….
    Love ya.

Leave a Reply

