On beauty…

Standard

What a day… I slept all but 6 hours of it! In those six hours I spent a good quality time with my animals, painted for a couple of hours, and had a very enjoyable day! My body needed rest, never did I foresee taking a 5 hour nap though I have to tell you, when I crawled into bed it felt like heaven! I should’ve known it wasn’t going to be my usual hour to two hour daily nap.

The past couple of days I’ve been thinking about an ad/poster I saw at Target several months ago. It was at the end of an aisle, probably 2 x 3 feet picture of an employee with a huge smile “ready to serve you”… or something similar. Anyway, it took me a few minutes in the store and walking by it again that I realized why I found this ad/poster “odd”. The gentlemen, whom had a huge friendly smile on his face, had one front tooth. At first I thought “Wow, that is strange”, and why? Because in most advertisements we see these beautiful, flawless models or people with perfect teeth, impeccable skin and makeup, hair that just came out of a salon…Perfection! I really didn’t think about this until I was recently in a store where, you guessed it, the person in the ad/poster had a perfect smile (teeth as perfect as Sebastian’s from “The Little Mermaid”) a thin beautiful woman built like a brick shit house… (I heard that term years ago from a male friend from MA).

On my way home the poster/ad from Target flashed back in my mind. I think Target was very wise and I liked their ad the best. First of all, it obviously stood out to me, as months later my memory returned to that ad, and secondly it examplified “real” people.

I think about the peer pressure that I think is far worse, now, than it was when I was younger. I always felt I needed to dress perfectly, look like something that walked out of a magazine and I always felt like I fell short of that. I’ve recently put on a few pounds in which I am working to rid myself of. I am very self conscious about this. I feel like I look awful when the reality is I probably look like an average person who is overweight. I have insecurities about my smile as I had unfortunately lost a couple teeth, could not afford bridges so I have a partial plate. I hate it, and I’ve had it for probably 8 or 9 years. If I can ever afford it, I will get bridges, for not only for comfort but also….appearance. This makes me think of people, friends I know who are missing teeth and do not smile wide, and/or cover their mouth when they smile… why? Because their teeth are imperfect and they, too, are self conscious about it. Now let’s think about children when they start losing their baby teeth, I think it’s the funniest, most ackward school picture for all of us! I remember having no insecurities or evidence of feeling self consciousness when this happened, nor have I seen this with any child. In fact, I remember when my nephew went through losing his front teeth, he thought it was cool because he could fit one of those huge straws from Friendly’s Fribbles in the space of his missing front teeth to suck down his frappe!

Back to this poster/ad in Target. I think this ad was brilliant! First of all, this man looked happy, very happy and friendly. There was nothing in this ad that would even suggest a subconscious embarassment for his imperfect teeth. The poster/ad was not only welcoming but also spoke to “real” people. How cool!

This is probably an odd subject matter, but I felt it was worth mentioning. How many of us are perfect? Not one of us! Wouldn’t it be nice if we could all be comfortable in our own skin, warts and all? Have you ever experienced meeting someone who was not the prettiest or most handsome person you’ve met but the beauty that beams from within makes you look at them differently, they suddenly become better looking? They look so much prettier or more handsome! Or am I the only one that has experienced this? When someone is beautiful inside, it exubes beauty on the outside. A rough looking man on a Harley can be the most gentle being in the world, though dressed like a bad ass! A woman dressed in jeans and tshirt looks pretty, beautiful as she helps others, offers random acts of kindness, cares for others. Beauty is not exterior, it comes from inside.

Likewise, you meet someone whom knocks your socks off and puts your labedo in high gear, but you get to know them and suddenly, they now are not as good looking or as attractive as you originally thought?

Just some food for thought tonight, as I sit here with my imperfect out of shape body without my partial plate (for two teeth) in, and my hair, towel dried, looking disastrous and probably down right wild!

If you have been following my blog you have probably recognized that I have become more comfortable with expressing my opinions, I am more secure in sharing what is in my heart or mind, even if it rings bells of controversy and disagreement from others… I think about all the time in my life I have spent trying to “look good”, or “perfect”… what a waste of time! Last year I lost a lot of weight to get healthy and to feel good about myself, not to attract men or anything else that I may now consider shallow.

It is my hope that we all come into comfort with who we are, and what we look like. Most men my age have lost a lot of hair… who cares? In December of last year I said to my brother-in-law “Wow you are so handsome!”…. he replied “I have grey hair”…. my response “Hey, at least you have hair!”, he’s in his late 50’s. He IS a very handsome man, and he is also a good man, thus making him more attractive.

I think it would be a much nicer world if we were all comfortable in our own skin and learne to love ourselves, flaws and all. Speaking of insecurity… maybe I’m the only one who feels insecure and self conscious at times!

Next time you look in the mirror, look deep within yourself… do you like what you see? How you feel about yourself?

“For Attractive lips, speak words of kindness.
?For lovely eyes, seek out the good in people.
?For a slim figure, share your food with the hungry.
?For beautiful hair, let a child run their fingers through it once a day.
?For poise, walk with the knowledge that you never walk alone.
?People, more than things, have to be restored, renewed, revived, reclaimed, and redeemed. Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, you will find one at the end of each of your arms.
?As you grow older, you will discover that you have two hands, one for helping yourself and the other for helping others.”
? Sam Levenson

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

3 responses »

  1. Even as a young girl, I remember my mother saying that if a woman wanted to feel better when she was sick, she should just put on some makeup. Fast forward and science tells us beauty is all in symetry.
    Who knows why we appreciate beauty. Would be stand in a field of burned out weeds and find it as beautiful as wildflowers?

Leave a Reply

