Unleaded expresso

Standard

Once again, I am sacked out in bed with my legs elevated…hey, it could be worse, I could be at the obgyn! 🙂 In all seriousness, my body is depleted of all energy, even after a shot of expresso. I will not be attending the banquet tonight, but that is okay. Knowing I’m on my way home tomorrow is where my focus is. That and how my girlfriend Kris is going to get me and this mattress into her car! 🙂

Yesterday’s crying jag made me feel lighter today. Today was a free day for me, so I slept until 9:30 then went to the tradeshow. So much has changed in this industry since I started. For one, the number of vendors keeps dwindling, but what is nice is to see my friends who are still plugging away, working their butts off… I often think of us in this industry as gypsies, carrying our wares from show to show. The older I get, the older tradeshows and snow get! Still, one thing that I absolutely love about conventions is the sisterhood that continues to shine through. For one, all of my classes had first time HOOT attendees. This is exciting and reassurance that we are still drawing new students and shoppers. It is always so nice to see my friend Donna, a yankee turned southern belle, smiling and working the busy booth. It is always so nice to see all the beautiful artwork and designs, and familiar faces of students of past. I love the hearts of decorative painters. My experience is that they are so loving, kind, willing to share their supplies with someone (in some cases,the teacher!) with fellow students, peers. It is exciting and inspiring to walk around, seeing old friends not only reunite, but also share their enthusiasm as they share each others projects and purchases.

It has been a good convention for me, one that I will return home with new inspirations, ideas and a creative flow that I hope will be masterpieces…. Hey, one can always hope!

How beautiful, to see people smiling, happy, enjoying each other and what they share in common. It sure as hell beats listening to the news, the mud slinging going on, not to mention the violence.

I look forward to arriving at my friend Kris’s in Connecticut, as she is allowing me to cut/pick some of the most beautiful hydrangeas I have ever seen. I have the perfect place for them, on my mantle. Then, upon arriving home, paying some long overdue bills. Although plum tuckered out, I am feeling joyous, grateful, and looking forward to a bright future filled with love! Love to you all……. donna

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

2 responses »

  1. the key words here are you are looking forward..love to see you typed..so glad you are doing so well..
    Hugs, Kisses & Love

  2. Over did a bit Donna? I’m so glad you’ve had a good experience despite the crying jag and the bed thing…. Can’t drag it down to the ballroom? It’s usually fun!

    Are you considering National in Chicago? I hope to go and would love to meet you in body, face to face….

Leave a Reply

