Hotcakes

Standard

The past few days when I’ve walked outside I began looking for the giant spatula to come from the sky which would flip me over like a hotcake.   It’s been ridiculously hot and humid.   I just heard we’re supposed to catch a break on Thursday…. hallalujah!

Met with my orthopedic surgeon this morning for what was initially going to be for my hands.  The ante was upped to dual diagnosis….What she believes is going on in my hands is all fibromyalgia related.  I have to pray my hands open in the morning, particularly the left one now, it hurts to lift or carry anything and is very weak, so I am now going to Occupational Therapy.   The lump on the back of my knee is a apparently a Baker’s Cyst, which is believed to be caused by a torn miniscus.    An MRI will be scheduled to ascertain this, and if it is what she believes (and she’s a very good dr), I’ll need orthoscopic surgery.  I was happy and grateful to hear she was confident it wasn’t cancer…   So after leaving her office I walked over to Occupational Therapy/Physical Therapy and asked them if they thought it would be easier if I just move in?   Shaking my head.   From there I went to PT in the pool, which amazes me how much easier it is on your joints.  I instantly liked my pt, though by the time I left I was looking to slash her tires!  I felt ill, physically, and was in much pain.  When I got home I took a muscle relaxant, which helped painwise.  The rest of the day (which I just knew was going to be miserable) ended up delightfully light, peaceful, and fun.  Hence STOP feeding myself negative stuff!!!!!

I rose early this morning to finish some of yesterdays paperwork, but I could not focus.  I started to feel myself tense up with anxiety (which is further felt by my frustration that I can’t do what I used to do)….

I’m back on Ideal Protein, lost almost 4 lbs this week.   18-20 to go.

I am so grateful that my old air conditioner continues to run, as I would chance writing a bad check to stay cool!   Extreme heat, extreme cold is very bothersome for me.

The cutest thing I saw today was my Maine coon cat, Jenny, sitting on a cinder block, reaching down with her head to kiss Miss Lilly.   Those two love each other, it makes me smile.

I hope you had a nice day, and saw something that touched your heart too!

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

One response »

  1. Donna, ya know that no ones understands the devastation of fibromyalgia unless ya got it. . . . . and really in this world I have found no one cares either. I, like you, struggle every day with it. Am 67 now and have discovered water aerobics are my only hope to keep moving–am now unable to do much else because of neededing two new knees and some work done on bone spurs on the left shoulder. . . oh snifffff. Hands are very weak, kinda hard to manage a paintbrush like that, but ya know what, to heck with it, I do it anyway!!! Like you I sleep alot when I need to. Am working full-time, exercise at least 3 times a week, paint like a maniac, do stuff with the grandgirls, etc. etc. – because I am absolutely determined to keep going. Sometimes I wus out and allow myself to be unbusy for a whole day, but then I feel guilty for not being productive in any way. A little bit of guilt goes a long way and it is so counter productive for me to dwell on it (of course I still do it anyway). I pray that you will continue to do well, stop beating yourself up kid–you are a wonderful and loved person living with many disabilities we would not wish on our worst enemy (or ex-husband). Prayers for you and your family are always on the way. Hugs Beth

Leave a Reply

