4th of july

Standard

I am in Amherst, MA at a friends house.  He is having surgery in the morning and needed someone with him and his spouse is recooperating in a nursing home from pneumonia.

I had a relaxing 4th of July, I grilled out for the first time in my life! Yes, 50 and using a gas grill for the first time.  I have always been afraid of them…the grill was given to me by a friend.  I am so excited!    I plan to have a summer full of grilled veges, meats and buns… I hope its not your buns I’m toasting! 🙂

I slept in today, have learned to unplug the phone entirely, not just turn the volume down.   This heat and humidity is playing havoc with my fibromyalgia, but I won’t bore you with my whining, besides… I’m sick of hearing myself, I’d rather not think about it.

I am being good about staying out of the sun, particularly because I have an appointment with my oncologist in Boston next week.  With the gene mutation I have, I am at high risk for melanoma…. so…. I’m sharing this because a friend suggested this spray bottle tan which I just applied.    Now, I’m sleeping on a salsa colored sofa, so if I wake up orange tomorrow, I really won’t know until I get up and off the couch and stand near the white wall….But no worries, when it comes to seasons I am Fall, and it happens to be my favorite season, so I’ll be okay with orange…

One wonderful thing about turning 50 (Did I tell you I finally received my AARP Card this week?  It’s about time!  Back to the wonderful thing of being 5 decades or half a century old… I laugh at myself more and I don’t care what others think of me.. I’m entitled to be myself, whatever or whomever I decide that may be, and if others don’t like it, that’s okay! 🙂  So much wasted time worrying about “fitting in”.   So if tomorrow I wake up orange, I’ll feel like an oompa lumpa, but a 5’11 one! 🙂

I hope your 4th was delightful.  xx

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

Leave a Reply

