My sister Karen

Standard

How many times have you put something off…. ehhhh, tomorrow.  How quickly tomorrows become weeks, months, even years.   If the “something” you put off is important to you, I suggest you stop distracting, side tracking, and take care of whatever it is you are delaying.

Tonight we received the news that my sister, Karen, the only one of 7 in my immediate family who hasn’t had cancer, was diagnosed with advanced ovarian cancer.  My oldest sister, she took ill at the young age of 6, came out of it with seizure disorder, severally mentally and physically handicapped as a result of the seizures.

“She’s not expected to make the night, Donna,.   I’m losing all my girls”…. I heard the pain in my dads voice.  My mother’s strong voice was broken and soft as she said “God is merciful Donna, it will be quick”.

My sister has had a hard life.  As I held her small hand that very much resembles my youngest sister, Darlene’s hands, I rubbed her face, her hair, her arm,  told her how beautiful she was.  Oh too vivid the events of this day which bring back some very painful memories of saying goodbye to my sister Darlene.  The same fucking disease.

I kissed her several times, told her I loved her…  As I walked out of the hospital I thought about my parents.   This will be the second child they’ve lost.   How do you get through this?  It must be hell, pure hell to see your children die.  It just doesn’t seem right that they go before you.

I pray that God will be merciful, that she will go quickly and they will be able to keep her comfortable, in no pain.  She deserves a peaceful ending.

And now I shall close, cry my eyes to sleep and pray for strength to get through this.

Flowers blossom so beautifully, and yet some only 2 days a year.  My sister has had a life of grand mal seizures, one of which she had in the short time I was with her tonight.  This is too much for me to take in right now, but this isn’t about me.  It’s about the end of my sisters life…I pray, God please be merciful, take her quickly, make this painless for her.  I know Darlene will be there for her when she crosses over.    I will do my best to be there for my parents.

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

12 responses »

  1. Prayers to you and your family..I am so sorry and so sad for you, for your sister and for your family..
    XXXX
    Chris

  2. I am so sorry, Donna…she will be whole, happy and at peace with God andd your sister, Darlene, soon. Prayers for you and your family…

  3. So very, very sorry, Donna. Will double up on prayers for you and your family. Brenda’s right…God does know what He is doing.

  4. Donna my heart is broken thinking you have to go through this at this time..it is so very sad to loose a sibling…
    My thoughts and prayers are for you sister and you and your family..hugs & kisses

  5. I always try to remember God created us all and he places us here on this earth to live and we belong to him for all eternity . And we must return to him when our life is finished here on earth and he decides to call us home. He is a merciful God and will show compassion to each and every one of us and prepare a place for us in his house.Donna, please remember she must go home to be with him but will be looking down on you and watching over you .God Bless You

  6. Donna, I am praying for you and your family. May the God of all comfort give you His peace, as you trust in Him.

Leave a Reply

