Common traits of happy people

Standard

The more I rest, the better I feel.   I have not been pushing myself physically, but allowing myself to rest, to sleep as long as I need to, nap, and to go to bed early and allow my body to heal.

I was thinking today about the things that make me happy.  They are simplistic, are not “things” but “moments”.

This made me think about the common traits of happy people, or people who choose happiness.  I first thought about the difference and changes I’ve made in my life to improve the quality of life.  Then I thought about particular people that genuinely are happy, giving thought to how they act, talk, and the things they do.  I made a list, and then googled “traits of happy people” to compare the two lists.   I was very pleased to find the two lists very similar!  Here is what I came up with:

They live in the present, not the past

They forgive others and move on, do not hold grudges or resentments

They live their life with an open mind and willingness to try new things, etc

They focus on helping others, bringing happiness to others, not to themselves

They are active, social, busy with family and friends

They are grateful for what they do have, not in constant pursuit of “more” and feel that have “enough”

They take care of themselves, physically, emotionally, spiritually

They have passion in their life and persue it

They appreciate nature

They know who they are, do not seek approval or validation outside of themselves

They enjoy laughter

They nourish and place value internally, not externally

They live within their means

They are kind

They do not strive for perfection

I have many happy people around me.  And on the days when I feel good physically, I am happy.   Even on my worst days I search for something to be grateful for, and think of something that makes me happy, ever vigilant of the claws of depression.   This is how I live my life now, and the majority of the time, it works.  I am so grateful for the time spent in Alanon meetings, therapy, support groups as all of these have helped me see my shortcomings, and the areas in my life that weren’t working or keeping me from happiness.   I have learned so much about myself, and I’m excited to say… I do most of what is on this list…

Have a happy day today, if you set your mind to!   Thank you all who messaged or commented to me on my last post.   Everyday is getting a little bit better.   Hugz to you all!

Is there anything you’d like to add to this list?  Do you possess any of these traits?  Are you happy?

 

 

I’m a pretty happy person based on this list.  Far from perfect, I work daily to be optimistic, to choose happiness over misery.  I am grateful and can find good in any situation.  I

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

4 responses »

  1. It’s all about the voice inside my head for me Donna…. If I can shut her up I can conquer the world! lol .. Love reading your blog .. Love you.. Glad you feel better xx

  2. Donna you know when I came online where I started from. It is listening to inside of me,God guiding me saying stop,rest You are more important than that script others wrote for me. I know the biggest impact besides walking through hell first was chosing to think only positive thoughts and yes surrounding myself with positive people,yet seeing good in everyone. Honestly I see something I like about others even if they chose not to about me,cause I cant live my life having bad feelings toward others. I strongly believe the universe is on my side,this is more of a trusting world then not with good people and God only wants good for me. Interdepenance,live a principled life. I know you have things to deal with I dont but I wanted to share myself.I admire you greatly.

  3. Glad you are starting to feel better! It’s so hard to stop and take the time to take care of ourselves, but if we don’t no one will so never feel guilty about putting yourself first especially when it comes to your health. Love you, Ju

  4. Nice to see you rising up again. Been touched, worried and grateful for what I have and for meeting you since I started reading your blog. Hang in there girl…..Hi to your mom….Tony

Leave a Reply

