Twenty Twelve……..

Standard

My goodness, it is 2012!   Today is the first day of Twenty Twelve!  It sometimes seems like just yesterday we were worried about the 2K Bug.. remember that?  Now here we are 12 years later… sighs.  How could that be?  I don’t look any older!  HA

Every year is a chance to start anew, to clean the slate and start over.  As we flip our calendars and realize, it’s time to buy a new daytimer, it is unknown what lies ahead of us for Twenty Twelve.    Will we combat fear by saddling up?  Or will we chill and not take things so seriously?   Whatever comes our way, it is up to use to decide how we are going to handle it.   It’s not a matter of “if”, it’s a matter of “when” something challenging, heartbreaking or overwhelming happens…  Have we celebrated enough New Years Eve’s so that we know not to take life so seriously?  Or are we amongst the many who feel the need to control outcomes (sometimes giving ourselves the “illusion” of control.  Granted there is much we do have control of, but are we capable and willing to free fall?   It can be very empowering, it can and may also be something we fear.   So many many changes …

Today is the first day of Twenty Twelve.  How did you spend it?  It has been said that to get an idea of how the new year will start, study how it begins!  My brother in law came home from the bank this morning chuckling.  A car pulled over, a woman jumped out, dropped to her knees dry heaving and vomiting.  As he was telling this with tortly laughter, I must admit, I found it quite comical too.  Long gone are the days when I would party until I dropped and wake up still hammered or worse, hung over.  I like to spend my day feeling good, enjoying the simple things that I love.  Okay, let’s give her the benefit of the doubt….  In the early morning after what is probably the most celebrated and partied event of the entire year a woman gets out of her car and is very ill….  flu???  It could very well be.

Whatever will unveil itself in this new chapter of your life remember… the choices are ours.   Sometimes that is the only thing we have control over.  It isn’t about what happens to us, it is about how good (or bad) we handle it!

Today is the first day of 2012… it sometimes seems like just yesterday I was back in school, growing up a country girl and this year too, starting this year a country girl….  Will it end as a city slicker?  This year I celebrated the new year with A cups, I ended the year with D cups… There is good in anything, if only we keep an open mind and are willing to show up!

Today was a holiday.. so do not set yourself up by thinking or feeling like you failed if you didn’t start the new year playing out your goals… Life is not a race, though we sometimes make it seem like it is.   How will you spend this year?  What will you do?  What are your challenges and what are your desires?  And if by chance you fall into a gold mine this year, your pants were ripped in the fall, thus the missing fabric served as a flag of ownership… remember your artist facebook friend who delights you with silly blogs!  (Just saying…)  And if by chance you fall into hard times, reach out your hand, I’ll be there!

Off to chase a dream…. it’s a very pleasant one…  Happy New Year all!

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

Leave a Reply

