Happy 50th birthday to me!

Standard

Today I turned 50!   Fifty years ago today my mom gave birth to her favorite and best behaved child (of 5)!  Thinking about my friend’s son “Gu”s who occasionally hacks into his moms facebook and writes how he is his moms favorite!  I love that kid!   Today also signifies the close of the hardest decade in my life.   True, it was the most character building, but if I knew what was to come over the next few years I wouldn’t have ever gotten out of bed again.   I welcome 50 with open arms and a smile on my face.  A new decade, and one that I hope will be kinder, gentler.

I woke up this morning surrounded with my furry family…what a beautiful start to my day!   With the exception of little Lilly, the other four animals were with me when I celebrated 40.  Blessings!   The snow that was predicted has at least for the moment, not arrived (I’m jumping up and down with joy!   I glanced at the pile of earrings I made last night still liking them…My “Honey Do Your Own” list is filled with creative endeavors today.  I woke up singing and I will probably go to bed doing the same.  Today has been a great day!

I’m half a century old.  I have lived five decades.  Wow!  How fortunate can one get?   I have not only survived the past decade but learned from it.  I bring with me, into this new decade a spirit filled with happiness (and saggy butt, but whose looking at that?) and inspiration.   The next year my focus will be on finishing the book I’ve been writing for years.   “God willing and the creek don’t rise!” because I’ve also learned that if you want to make God laugh, tell him your plans!  Everything is subject to change!

A couple years ago I started a “special event” class in my home studio to celebrate my birthday.   Well received, this year I had two different classes.  Monday was the first one and last night was the second, also bringing to close teaching for a month…a much needed break.   We painted several gift items and I gave out prizes to everyone.  My greatest joy is to give, so I gifted myself with that.  All, I believe, went home very happy and with a bundle of gifts to give out.  Success!

Today I celebrate my birthday 75 lbs lighter…hence the picture.   I am writing this with balance in physical, mental and spiritual.  I have never been this smart or this dumb in my life!   Think about that!   Life is far from perfect, but my spirit is free falling, my creativity is churning and my love for life is at an all time high.  I am neatly folding up my 40’s and filing them away in a folder labeled “the most difficult time of my life”, and walking away from it with immense growth.  I stand today, a whole person knowing who she is, what she is made of, and proof that we are always given what we need to get through whatever is placed in front of us.    Whether you are healing spiritually, emotionally or physically…it is always darkest before the dawn and I believe that most of us are unaware of our own inner strength.

I have an imperfect family whom I love and depend on, learn from.  I have the kindest, most compassionate group of friends that I have ever had, and some favorites who have been with me for 30 years!  I  no longer expect perfection from anyone, including myself.  I forgive to set myself free of the anguish and pain attached to holding on, and I make amends for the times where my imperfections are obvious, or when I trespass against another, which is 99% unintentional.   I really do live each day doing the best that I can, always with an eye on growth… I like who I am today.    I do what I love everyday, and on the days that aren’t so bright (and we all have them) I put my trust and faith in God.  I am always given what I need.  I really have been and continue to be blessed.  While I wouldn’t wish any of the challenges and pain that came in my 40’s, I wouldn’t change my personal growth for the world!

Onward, to my fabulous fifties!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

7 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday! Your writing is wonderful! You’re an inspiration to me!! Thanks so much for reminding me of the priorities I need to remember!

  2. Donna,
    All I can say you are the most inspirational person that I have ever met. I am so glad that Harry shared you with me. I remember walking into your shop the first day I met you. Not realizing what a beautiful person you are inside and out! I am so blessed to call you my friend. I miss you! I really need to come and see you. You gave me strength 11 years ago! I find myself these really need someone like you back in my life!! I love you Donna and thank you again for being my friend. Happy Birthday!! Robin

Leave a Reply

