What if…

Standard

What if there is no rhyme or reason to the events and happenings of the world?  Everything is redundantly random?  What if we were given proof that it is a dog eat dog world, there is no God, no good or evil forces, no karma?  Would you still be who you are today or would you become less considerate of others?  Would you become more selfish or selfless?

If stealing was not illegal or sinful, would you steal from another to score a bigger house?  Drive a fancier car?  Have a bigger bank account?  Would you opt to go through the difficulties of life, the life changing events that help to build our character, strength and give us substance or would you opt out?

I would not change who I am.  I wouldn’t consciously participate in screwing over another even if that meant I go without.  When it comes to survival, we do what we have to do, but how many of us can honestly say, we know about and have battled survival?  Needs versus desires?  Food, clothing, shelter….

The world is ever changing as I write this.  As you read this morals, standards seem to be plummeting at rapid rates.  Is this happening to awaken us?  For us to seek out our faith and commit ourselves to such or is this the result of  a world without God(s), evil surpassing good?

Faith…by which we believe but cannot see…  No matter what you believe or if there is only “one truth”, I will continue to be who I am, to help others when I can, to be honest, kind, to live my life as if there is a God…because for me, to live in a world without Hope, or to race thru life collecting things versus memories or life lessons, to participate as unruly, uncaring…. I wouldn’t be happy with the reflection looking back at me from the mirror.

I wrote this as a reminder to myself, as I walk through some challenges/changes, that I do have choices, and I choose to believe in God, in good from evil.  I would continue to commit to becoming the best person I can be.  This is not true of all…so when I encounter someone who is making my life more difficult, or full of strife, I can engage, spend precious time in battle, or I can acknowledge two different choices, beliefs, two different paths, let them go, pack up my lesson(s) from such, and move on….

I believe…not only because I have seen and felt the existence of a higher power at work, but because for me, it makes my existence in this very big and sometimes cold world… richer.    Which leaves me with one last question….   Do I measure wealth in terms of love, relationships, growth because I do not have a large bank account, or because…this is who I am and who I am supposed to be?

 

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

Leave a Reply

