T day

Standard

I swear if my head weren’t attached as it is, it would be spinning all the way around like an owls.   What  a week!  But tomorrow (Yay, it’s Friday already!) I will drive to Boston and get the last part of my breast reconstruction.  I will be getting the tattooing of the areolas.   It’s taken me months to get the courage to do this after going through that frightening experience with infection in November.  Now I’m optimistic, in the right frame of mind to go through with this and end this long drawn out journey through breast cancer.   I will need to go back for follow up in 2-3 weeks, and then I am done!  A journey that started in March, 2009, ending in July 2011.   See me dance on my tiptoes?  I’m thinking tats of hibiscus, or sunflowers! NOT!  It is my sincere hope that I am one of the fortunate ones, gifted with good health, at least for a while.  I will not take it for granted!

As for tonight, I’m going to take a long leisurely bath, as I’m sure this will not be allowed for a few weeks, nor will I chance it.   This has been a week where I have looked forward, daily, to the close of each day when I could crawl into bed, relax, play literati with my girlfriend (a nightly ritual and has been for several years now), and then fall fast to a sound sleep of at least five hours.  It’s been a long time since I have had 5 hours of uninterrupted sleep.    It’s been a stressful week, so much that I have been taking naps again, and even that hasn’t interfered with my quality sleep at night.

As I drive into Mass General Hospital tomorrow, make the hike into my plastic surgeon’s office, I will be doing so knowing this is the last stage of what has been a very long road and yet what I sometimes feels like just yesterday.   Dressed in a hospital gown, oozing and bleeding from a seroma and hematoma (next stop was my surgical oncologist office), waiting to meet Dr Liao, my plastic surgeon to discuss breast reconstruction options  which would begin on the table right after my upcoming mastectomies.  The lumpectomy had been done immediately as my oncologist did not want to wait the two months booking time with the plastic surgeons office- two cancers, two grades.    So grateful to be at the end, so grateful to be walking into that clinic tomorrow, seeing my favorite nurses, and knowing… one more appointment…. one more appointment…. (God willing).  So grateful to be able to say today… I am cancer free …

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

5 responses »

  1. Cancer Free……those are 2 wonderful words that all of us survivors love to hear! Good luck tomorrow. Love You Lots, my dear friend!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

