A bit of trauma turned to more trust

Standard

This morning I was racing around to get ready to run to town, Monday morning errands.  Brody loves to go for rides.  So, let’s see if Scooter wants to join us.   Brody jumped in the car, Scooterette ran towards the car, then stopped.  Unsure, she ran in circles.  Then she put her front paws up to me like she does when she wants me to pick her up.  When I went to do that she screamed and fought.  She did NOT want to get in the car.  Perhaps a memory of the last time she was in one?  I picked her up, kissed her, brought her in the house, gave her some treats, and Brody and I headed out on errends.

A couple of hours later we arrive home.  This is the first time she has been left alone with the cats.  I expected her to greet us at the door, she did not.  I call for her, no Scooterette.  I clap my hands, no pup.  Now I am beginning to get nervous.  I put the groceries down, walked around the first floor, as I walked back into the kitchen, there she stood, head down, shaking.  I think she thought we abandoned her.  I picked her up, kissed her, held her, then put her down so as not to make too big of a deal about it.  “Time to go out!”  With that Brody grabbed his frisbee and the little one RACED out the door.    She ran up the back hill faster than she ever has, and she was running in circles, full of life.  She was in fact, relieved.  I have earned a bit more trust with her.   As Brody played frisbee, she raced in circles, reminding me of Snoopy.  I smiled.

We came in, I unpacked all the groceries, fed all the animals and presented the dogs with their bones.  Brody had a big bone, she had a matching mini bone.  They both ran into the livingroom, sat down and chowed them down.  

I expected that she might not to go in the car.  I didn’t know what to do, whether to try it or not.  I decided to try it.  I got my answer clearly.  I don’t want to believe that someone dropped this little love off, I prefer to believe that perhaps she got out of the car when someone was traveling…. though why weren’t they looking for her?  It really doesn’t matter, what matters is that she’s safe, she’s continually being reassured of that, and I am truly enjoying the tiny pitter pat of her footsteps behind mine.

Her past will probably always be there for her as a reminder, but I will do everything in my power to assure that her future is filled with sunshine, love and good vittles so that her visitation to her past pain is kept to a minimum, just as I do in my own life.

Have a great day!

About anartistslife

Through the many trials, triumphs and tribulations of my life, I share my stories to help others. I share my thoughts to perhaps bring a new point of view to my readers, and I share my opinions because I just have better ideas! ♥♥! Where would we be without humor?

One response »

  1. As always loved your blog post. Sounds so much like what My friend had to go through With the little Maltese she adopted.Her lily is only 6 pounds and was a rescute dog and Kathy hung in there with her and now could never ever part with her. Scooterette, Looks like your home girl. Connie xoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

