Timing…

Standard

If I am true to what I believe, there are no coincidences in life.  The people we meet, the opportunities, misfortunes, things that come into our lives all have purpose and meaning.   I remind myself of this as I am thinking about timing tonight.

Have you forgotten something, ran back inside of your house to retrieve it, then a couple minutes later as you are driving down the road you realize you just missed being in a head on collision?  Have you walked into an airport and and found your neighbor sitting in the same terminal as you?  There are so many examples of this, too many to list, but the gist of what I am saying is… if I believe that there is purpose to everything then I also have to believe that the timing, too is impeccable.

People, places, things come into our lives for reasons, seasons, lessons…  In my earlier years I would hold on with all my might if I liked someone.  These days I know that’s the quickest way to destroy the beauty of the moment.  Living in the moment is enjoying the present, not focusing on what will be tomorrow, but what is right now.  The fact is… every relationship in our life will end.  Sad but true.   We can buy the biggest houses, the fanciest cars, we can purchase an island with family inheritance… but it is all merely rent.   None of this is forever, nor are our relationships.   Yet most people (myself included in this) take these things for granted.   It is easy to get caught up in the stresses of everyday life and forget about what is really important, what matters most to us. 

Each of us has choices to make in our lives.  There is no right or wrong really.  It’s about what we want to do with our lives, in our lives.   Sometimes we cross paths with people that we really like or connect with but it seems like the timing isn’t right.  One persons light is looking left, the others is looking right.  And that’s okay, it doesn’t mean the timing isn’t right.  It just means there was a purpose and it was served.  

Will we cling to the disappointment of the situation or the beauty of the experience?  Will we take from this the knowledge of the lesson or wallow in its ending?

Choices…

Choices…

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

